CV Lothar Popp

Foto Popp 1908 Foto Popp 1918 Foto Popp Mitte der 1920er
Popp ca. 1908,
Family owned
Vermtl. Popp Nov.
1918, City archive Kiel
Popp mid of 1920s
State archive Hamburg

 

Born: 7.2. 1887 Furth i. Wald as son of a lower public servant (royal Bavarian station master); cath., left church later (2)

Public school and apprenticeship as shop assistant in Augsburg (2)

Ran away from home at the age of 16 (4)

1904 - 1914 worker and merchant in Hamburg (2); his father died early and he got his mother to join him in Hamburg (6)

1906 member of the 'Monistenbund' (association of libertines) (4)

Joined the SPD, because he had heard, that Bebel and W. Liebknecht did not approve of the loans for the war in 1870/71 (1)

Joined the German Peace Society on 4 August 1914, because the SPD parliamentary faction approved of the war loans (1)

After the death of his mother he moved to Kiel, where he was able to take over three cigarette shops. (6) According to Otto Preßler he operated a "Bonbon-Laden" (sweets shop) in the Holstenstrasse and another one in the Elisabethstrasse. According to Gertrud Völcker he had a sweets sale, whereby the sweets were manufactured in Bordesholm (nearby Kiel) by a sympathiser.

1915 private for 20 months; early 1917 he was dismissed as unfit for service to Kiel as unfit for service, to become a mobilised fitter working at the Germania ship yard. (4)

At first activ for the SPD (Social-democratic Party for Germany); took part in a strike in March 1917 (not yet any active role, "by that time I had just arrived.") (1)

Lived near by the Wilhelmplatz in the Ringstrasse (1)

Founded in Kiel with ca. one thousand men the "Sozialdemokratischer Verein Gross Kiel - alte Richtung" [Social-democratic Association Kiel and Outskirts - Old Direction], a local organisation which existed only in Kiel. Chairman was W. Sens, who had a wooden leg and could not be recruited. Other chairpersons were besides Popp: Palavizini, Güth. Later the association joined the USPD (Independent SPD). Chairman of the USPD region Wasserkante (water edge) was the member of the Reichstag from Bremen Alfred Henke. (1 and 4)

Took part in the January strike 1918 in Kiel, founded the first Arbeiterrat (worker's council) and was sentenced to 2 months in prison for conducting an illicit meeting, which he served in Neumuenster. (1 and 4)

After being released from prison the ship yard refused to keep him. The USPD shop stewarts tried several days until they managed to find work for him at Gebrueder Genimb-Motorenwerke. There he worked for nine days and reported sick. Until the revolution started he did not go back, which he could do because he was financially secured. (4)

Leader of the marines' mutiny in Kiel (November 1918) together with Karl Artelt. The effects of his then work he evaluated 1978 in retrospect as follows: "We were not revolutionaries, because we did not fight for a cause but we wanted to terminate a crazy thing. When we suddenly held the power, I wanted to make something out of the collapse of the Kaiserreich. In some votings I could beat Noske, who had come to strangle everything, but during practical work my group became inferior. We became tired. The revolutionaries did not want the revolution, they wanted the constituent national assembly in Berlin." Lothar Popp views this shift of political responsibility from the workers' and soldiers' councils to the national assembly, which - as he concedes was approved by the workers and soldiers - as "the first step into the collapse of the Weimar Republic". (8)

Went back to Hamburg beginning of 1919. In the beginning of February 1919 Popp is mentioned in the USPD newspaper ("Republik"); he held a speech on the Wilhelmplatz in Kiel on the occasion of mounting tensions regarding the council republic of Bremen.

He became a street hawker and a carny amongst others at the Hamburg Dom and he founded the association of the ambulant tradespersons and the carnies. (6).

Rejoined the SPD at the unification party congress in Halle (1922) (1)

Member of the Hamburg Bürgerschaft 1924-1931 (3); unsuccessfull candidatures for the Reichstag (2)

Foto Popp 1941 Foto Popp 1960 Foto Popp in Kiel 1974
Popp ca. 1941
Family owned
Popp ca. 1960
Family owned
Popp in Kiel 1974
Family owned

1931/32 he went to Danzig (now Gdansk), where he sold toys and self manufactured cleaning powder. (6)

In 1933 he went to Prag in the Czech Republic. When the Nazis marched in he went by train via Linz and Switzerland to Paris. When France was occupied by the Nazis he fled to Marseille (6). He was expatriated by the Nazis (however his name does not appear in the expatriation lists; see Michael Hepp, Ausbürgerungen deutscher Staatsbürger, München 1985) (3). 1941 he sailed to Martinique on board the Winnipeg. The Winnipeg brought on two tours fighters for the Spanish republic to South America, a planned third tour could not take place because the Northern coast was blocked. Then Eleanore Roosevelt's organisation used the ship to help oppressed people from Germany. Lothar Popp managed to get on board one days before sailing, because he knew one of the sailors. Breitscheid and Everding were arrested, before the could get on board and later were handed over to the Nazis. The Winnipeg however did not make it to Martinique but was seized by a British ship and rerouted to Trinidad. "Once again the emigrants were placed behind barbed wire". After some time those who possessed US Visa were allowed to proceed (7). Lothar Popp went to New York (6). In the New York Passenger Lists, 1820-1957 the following entry was made: Lothar Popp, 54 years, single, merchant, born in Furth, Germany, visa issued in Marseille, France, last permanent residence: France, Marseille arrives at 6 June 1941 on board the S.S. Evangeline from Trinidad.BWI. in New York (5). He was received by Brauer, Weichmann and Katz and could stay temporarily in a house rented by SPD emigrants. (6)

Became a US citizen and opened a business in New York „Lothar Popp Import and Export, Manufacturer of Educational Toys Microscopes and Musical Instruments, 446 East Str. 84th Street New York“
Additionally he established together with Richard Kramer the small shop „ELK Company“ 240 East 86th Street in New York, where they manufactured and sold sweets especially marzipan (6)

He wrote articles for the "Neue Volks-Zeitung (new peoples newspaper)", which was published in USA (6)

In 1949/50 he came back to Germany, but stayed only for some months, because he wanted to keep his American citizenship. Thereafter he came often back to stay for some months, the family also visited him in the States until he finally settled in Hamburg again. Meanwhile legislation was changed so he could so without loosing his American citizenship. He kept his American citizenship until he died. (6)

He became honorary chairman of the association of ambulant tradespersons and carnies (6). His son Werner Popp after second world war became chairman for some time. Ernst Harberger, Lothar Popps half brother became after second world war became chairman of the professional work group for the ambulant tradespersons until he died. Harberger himself ran a fruit stall in front of the Klosterburg opposite the main station. (6)

After the death of his first wife Anna he married again in 1957 and ran a cafe together with his new wife. He was still an active member of the SPD. (1)

Interviews for NDR- and WDR- documenatry films covering his role in the marines' mutiny in Kiel

He had altogether five sons (6). He died on 27 4 1980 in Hamburg (2)

References:
1 Popp's own statement in the interview 1978 >>
2 Schröder, Wilhelm, Heinz, "Sozialdemokratische Parlamentarier....", Droste Verl., Düsseldorf, 1995; internet data base >>
3 Hints from Angelika Voß-Louis, Forschungsstelle für Zeitgeschichte in Hamburg
4 Interview notes from Dr. Volker Ullrich >>
5. See www.ancestry.de; BWI probably indicates British West Indies (by that time Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad, Grenada, Antigua, St. Lucia, and the Bahamas.
www.ancestry.de notes Trinidad Cuba, but the scanned document clearly says Trinidad.BWI.!
6. Information from his son Lothar Fertig, 2009
7. See Lisa Fittko, Escape through the Pyrenees, as well as Varian Fry, Surrender on demand
8. Bernd Michels: Kieler Matrosenaufstand von 1918 - „Wir waren keine Revolutionäre“, in „Sozialdemokrat Magazin“, Heft 11/12 November /Dezember 1978

Published works:
1 Popp, Lothar in Zusammenarbeit mit Artelt, Karl: Ursprung und Entwicklung der November-Revolution 1918, in: Gesellschaft für Kieler Stadtgeschichte - Sonderveröffentlichung 15, Kiel 1983. (Originalausgabe Ende 1918 beim Hermann Behrens Verlag in Kiel, Vorwort datiert am 13. Dezember 1918)
2 Popp, Lothar: Das Gesundheitsbrevier - Lange und glücklich leben durch vernünftig leben, Hamburg Möven-Verlag 1977

These are the data known to me. For further information I would be grateful; -> Navigation button: "Kontakt"

Last updated 27.12.10

 
  • Interview with one of the leaders: Lothar Popp >>
  • CV L. Popp >>
  • Recollections of the other leader: Karl Artelt >>
  • CV K. Artelt >>
  • Additional temporary witnesses >>
  • Films about the revolt >>
  • Evaluations >>
  • Timeline >>
  • Virtual sightseeing tour >>
  • Commentary >>

Lebenslauf Lothar Popp

Foto Popp 1908 Foto Popp Mitte der 1920er
Popp ca. 1908,
Familienbesitz
Popp Mitte der 1920er
Staatsarchiv Hamburg

 

Geboren: 7.2. 1887 Furth i. Wald als Sohn eines Unterbeamten (königlich bayrischer Bahnhofsvorsteher,6); kath., später ausgetreten (2)

Volksschule und Handlungsgehilfenlehre in Augsburg (2)

Mit 16 von zu Hause weggelaufen (4)

1904 - 1914 Arbeiter und Kleinhändler in Hamburg (2); er holte die Mutter nach, der Vater war früh verstorben (6)

1906 Mitglied des Monistenbundes ("Freidenkerverband") (4)

Trat 1912 in die SPD ein, weil er gehört hatte, dass Bebel und W. Liebknecht die Kriegskredite verweigert hatten (1)

Trat am 4. August 1914 in die Deutsche Friedensgesellschaft (Curio Haus in Hamburg) ein, weil die SPD Fraktion die Kriegskredite bewilligt hatte. (1)

Nach dem Tod der Mutter zog er nach Kiel, wo er drei Zigarettenläden übernehmen konnte. (6) Nach Aussagen Otto Preßlers besaß Lothar Popp einen "Bonbon-Laden" in der Holstenstrasse und einen in der Elisabethstrasse. Nach Aussagen von Gertrud Völcker hatte er einen Vertrieb von Süßwaren, die in Bordesholm von einem Sympathisierenden hergestellt wurden.

1915 wurde er eingezogen, 20 Monate Soldat, Anfang 1917 als dienstuntauglich nach Kiel entlassen, um auf der Germaniawerft als dienstverpflichteter Schlosser zu arbeiten. (4)

Zunächst im Rahmen der SPD in Kiel aktiv. Streikteilnahme März 1917 (keine aktive Rolle, "da war ich gerade erst gekommen.") (1)

Wohnte in der Nähe vom Wilhelmplatz in der Ringstrasse (1)

Gründete in Kiel mit ca. tausend Mann den „Sozialdemokratischen Verein Groß-Kiel - alte Richtung“, eine lokale Organisation, die es nur in Kiel gab. Erster Vorsitzender war W. Sens, der ein Holzbein hatte und deshalb nicht eingezogen werden konnte. Weitere Vorstandsmitglieder neben Popp: Palavizini, Güth. Der Verein ging später in die USPD über. Vorsitzender des USPD-Bezirks Wasserkante war der Bremer Reichstagsabgeordnete Alfred Henke (1 und 4).

Beteiligung am Januar Streik 1918 in Kiel, organisierte die ersten Kieler Arbeiterräte und wurde für das Abhalten einer verbotenen Versammlung zu zwei Monaten Gefängnis verurteilt, die er in Neumünster absaß. (1 und 4)

Nach der Entlassung bekam er auf der Werft keine Beschäftigung mehr. Die Vertrauensleute der USPD haben tagelang gesucht, bis sie ihn bei Gebrüder Genimb-Motorenwerke unterbrachten. Dort hat er 9 Tage gearbeitet und sich danach krank gemeldet. Bis zur Revolution war er nicht mehr fest in Arbeit, was er sich leisten konnte, da er finanziell abgesichert war. (4)

Führer des Kieler Matrosenaufstands im November 1918 zusammen mit Karl Artelt. Die Auswirkungen seiner damaligen Arbeit beurteilte er im Rückblick 1978 folgendermaßen: "Wir waren keine Revolutionäre, denn wir kämpften nicht für eine Sache, sondern wir wollten eine verrückte Sache beenden. Als wir dann plötzlich die Macht in den Händen hatten, da wollte ich aus dem Zusammenbruch des Kaiserreichs was machen. In Abstimmungen konnte ich Noske - der gekommen war, um alles abzuwürgen - noch schlagen, aber in der praktischen Arbeit war meine Gruppe dem Noske unterlegen. Wir wurden müde. Die Revolutionäre wollten nicht die Revolution, sie wollten die Nationalversammlung in Berlin." Lothar Popp sieht in der Verlagerung der politischen Verantwortung von den Arbeiter- und Soldatenräten zu den politischen Machern der Nationalversammlung, die - wie er zugibt - von den Arbeitern und Soldaten gewollt war, den „ersten Schritt zum späteren Untergang der Weimarer Republik". (8)

Ging Anfang 1919 zurück nach Hamburg. Anfang Februar 1919 wird Popp im Organ der USPD ("Republik") erwähnt; er hält eine Rede auf dem Kieler Wilhelmplatz anläßlich der sich verschärfenden Situation für die Bremer Räterepublik.

Er betätigte sich als Straßenhändler und Schausteller u.a. auf dem Hamburger Dom und begründete den Verband der ambulanten Gewerbetreibenden und der Schausteller. (6)

Trat auf dem Vereinigungsparteitag in Halle 1922 wieder der SPD bei (1)

Mitglied der Hamburgischen Bürgerschaft 1924-1931 (3), erfolglose Kandidaturen für den Reichstag (2)

Foto Popp 1941 Foto Popp 1960 Foto Popp in Kiel 1974
Popp ca. 1941
Familienbesitz
Popp ca. 1960
Familienbesitz
Popp in Kiel 1974
Familienbesitz

Zog ca. 1931/32 nach Danzig, wo er Spielzeug und selbst hergestelltes Putzpulver verkaufte. (6))

Er ging 1933 nach Prag in die Tschechei. Als die Nazis einmarschierten, fuhr er im Kurswagen über Linz und die Schweiz nach Paris. Mit der Besetzung Frankreichs durch die Nazis floh er nach Marseille (6). Er wurde von den Nazis ausgebürgert (sein Name taucht jedoch nicht in den Ausbürgerungslisten auf; vgl. Michael Hepp, Ausbürgerungen deutscher Staatsbürger, München 1985) (3). 1941 fuhr er mit der Winnipeg nach Martinique. Die Winnipeg hatte zwei Touren mit Spanienkämpfern nach Südamerika gemacht, eine geplante dritte Tour konnte nicht mehr stattfinden, weil die Nordküste blockiert wurde. Die Organisation von Eleanore Roosevelt nutzte dann das Schiff um Verfolgte aus Deutschland herauszuschaffen. Lothar Popp konnte einen Tag vor dem Auslaufen an Bord kommen, weil er einen Matrosen kannte. Breitscheid und Everding wurden verhaftet, bevor sie an Bord gelangten und wurden später an die Nazis ausgeliefert. Die Winnipeg kam aber nicht nach Martinique sondern wurde von einem britischen Kriegsschiff aufgebracht und nach Trinidad geleitet. Dort wurden die Emigranten in ein Lager gesperrt. Nach einiger Zeit durften jedoch jene, die US Visa besaßen ihre Reise fortsetzen (7). Popp fuhr nach New York (6). In den New York Passenger Lists, 1820-1957 findet sich folgender Eintrag: Lothar Popp, 54 Jahre alt, Single, Kaufmann, Geboren in Furth, Germany, Visa ausgegeben in Marseille, Frankreich, letzte permanente Adresse: France, Marseille trifft am 6.6.1941 an Bord der S.S. Evangeline von Trinidad. BWI. in New York ein (5). Er wurde von Brauer, Weichmann und Katz empfangen und vorübergehend in einem von SPD-Emigranten angemieteten Haus untergebracht. (6)

Amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft und Geschäft in New York: „Lothar Popp Import and Export, Manufacturer of Educational Toys Microscopes and Musical Instruments, 446 East Str. 84th Street New York“. Außerdem gründete er zusammen mit Richard Kramer das Geschäft „ELK Company“ 240 East 86th Street in New York, in dem Süßigkeiten insbesondere Marzipan von Hand gefertigt und verkauft wurden. (6)

Er schrieb für die in Amerika erscheinende „Neue Volks-Zeitung“. (6)

Kam 1949/50 wieder nach Deutschland zurück, blieb jedoch nur einige Monate, weil er die amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft behalten wollte. Er kam dann öfter für mehrere Monate nach Deutschland, die Familie besuchte ihn auch in den USA, bis er sich schließlich wieder in Hamburg niederließ. Das war inzwischen möglich, ohne dass er Gefahr lief, die amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft zu verlieren. Er blieb amerikanischer Staatsbürger. (6)

Er wurde Ehrenvorsitzender des von ihm gegründeten Verbands der ambulanten Gewerbetreibenden und Schausteller (6). Sein Sohn Werner Popp war nach dem Krieg zeitweilig erster Vorsitzender. Ernst Harberger, der Halbbruder Lothar Popps war nach dem Krieg bis zu seinem Tod Vorsitzender der Fachgruppe ambulanter Händler. Harberger hatte selbst einen ambulanten Obstsstand vor der Klosterburg gegenüber dem Hauptbahnhof. (6)

Nach dem Tod seiner ersten Frau Anna heiratete er erneut (1957) und betrieb mit seiner neuen Frau Martha ein Cafe. Er war weiterhin aktives SPD Mitglied. (1)

Interviews für NDR und WDR Dokumentar-Filme über seine Rolle im Kieler Matrosenaufstand

Er hatte insgesamt fünf Söhne (6). Er starb am 27.4.1980 in Hamburg (2)

Referenzen:
1 Popp's eigene Angaben im Interview 1978 >>
2 Schröder, Wilhelm, Heinz, "Sozialdemokratische Parlamentarier....", Droste Verl., Düsseldorf, 1995; Internet-Datenbank >>
3 Hinweise von Angelika Voß-Louis von der Forschungsstelle für Zeitgeschichte in Hamburg
4 Interview-Notizen von Dr. Volker Ullrich >>
5. Siehe www.ancestry.de; BWI steht vermutlich für: British West Indies (damals Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad, Grenada, Antigua, St. Lucia, and the Bahamas.)
Bei www.ancestry.de wird Trinidad Cuba angegeben, das widerspricht aber der Angabe im eingescannten Dokument!
6. Informationen von seinem Sohn Lothar Fertig, 2009
7. Vergleiche Lisa Fittko, Mein Weg durch die Pyrenäen, dtv sowie Varian Fry, Auslieferung auf Verlangen, Hanser, München 1986
8. Bernd Michels: Kieler Matrosenaufstand von 1918 - „Wir waren keine Revolutionäre“, in „Sozialdemokrat Magazin“, Heft 11/12 November /Dezember 1978

Veröffentlichungen:
1 Popp, Lothar in Zusammenarbeit mit Artelt, Karl: Ursprung und Entwicklung der November-Revolution 1918, in: Gesellschaft für Kieler Stadtgeschichte - Sonderveröffentlichung 15, Kiel 1983. (Originalausgabe Ende 1918 beim Hermann Behrens Verlag in Kiel, Vorwort datiert am 13. Dezember 1918)
2 Popp, Lothar: Das Gesundheitsbrevier - Lange und glücklich leben durch vernünftig leben, Hamburg Möven-Verlag 1977

Dies sind die mir bisher bekannten Daten. Für weitere Informationen bin ich dankbar; -> Navigationsleiste: "Kontakt"

Last updated 14. Jan. 2017

 
  • Interview mit einem der Führer: Lothar Popp >>
  • Lebenslauf L. Popp >>
  • Erlebnisbericht des zweiten Führers: Karl Artelt >>
  • Lebenslauf K. Artelt >>
  • Weitere Zeitzeugen >>
  • Filme über die Ereignisse >>
  • Einschätzungen >>
  • Zeitleiste >>
  • Virtueller Stadtrundgang >>
  • Kommentar >>