CV Karl Artelt

Birth and education

Karl Artelt was born on 31 December 1890 in the German village Alt-Salbke (later suburbanised into Magdeburg), Repkowstr. 12, the son of an engine operator August Artelt and his wife Marie. He attended the eight-classes primary school and thereafter did an apprenticeship with the machine production company R. Wolf in Magdeburg and became a qualified engine fitter. There he worked together with Erich Weinert, later a well known poet, who taught him the basics of Marxism (source 9, see below).

Party memberships

In 1908 he became a member of the SPD (Socialdemocratic Party of Germany) and later joined the USPD (Independent Socialdemocratic Party of Germany)(9). In Spring 1919 he was one of the founders of the KPD (Communist Party of Germany) in Magdeburg and in 1946 he joined the SED (United Socialistic Party of Germany).

East-Asia

In 1908 he was hired by the Hamburg-Amerikanische Packetfahrt-Actien-Gesellschaft (HAPAG, an international shipping line) and spent amongst others some years as a stoker on board of ships, which were used to buy and move copra in the South Seas (3, 7, 9). Two years later he was conscripted into the German navy, serving as a stoker and later as a pump specialist on board the armoured cruiser 'Gneisenau' of the German East-Asia fleet in Qingdao (Tsingtau). He became a contemporary witness of the Bourgeois revolution in China led by Dr. Sun Yat-sen (3, 7, 9). In September 1913 he returned to Magdeburg as reservist and resumed his job at the Wolf factory (9).

Foto Artelt auf der Gneisenau 1912 Artelt on board the „Gneisenau“ 1912 (lower row 2nd right and detail); the board between the sailors reads: master pump personnnel SMS „Gneisenau“, Amoij, China 1912;
family property
Click to magnify.

 

First World War

When the first world war broke out he had to rejoin the navy, this time as an administrative clerk for the the 1. Werft Division at Kiel-Wik (7, 9).

Foto Artelt und Kameraden in Kiel-Wik 1914 Karl Artelt, 1. Werft-Division, left, (enlarged detail right), together with comrads of the 1. Torpedo-Division in Kiel-Wik, September
1914; family property (Karl Artelt, grandson); click to magnify.

At the beginning of 1915, he was detached to the Germania shipyard in Kiel as an engine fitter. After some months he was elected shop steward for the German metal workers union for the shipyard (7). In mid May 1916 the general war situation and the food supply in Kiel had deteriorated to such an extent that on 14 June, when the first early potatoes were distributed, there were assaults on sales points and storage halls. The following morning large numbers of the Germania shipyard workers went on strike (12, pg. 37). Karl Artelt was one of the strike leaders (7). During the winter the food supply situation worsened. At the end of March 1917, it was announced that bread rations were to be reduced. In protest 1450 workers from the Howaldt shipyard and 4000 workers from the Germania shipyard downed tools (12, S. 40). Artelt was a member of the strike committee (9). He was apprehended because of these activities and tried at a court martial, where he was sentenced to six months in a fortress prison, which he had to serve at Groß-Strelitz in Upper Silesia (1).

Foto: Artelt 1917 vorm Kriegsgericht Artelt in April 1917 when he was tried by extra ordinary court martial in Kiel; the photo was sent as a post card on 2 November 1917 from the fortress prison Groß-Strelitz to his brother in law Walter Heinke in Magdeburg-Salbke; family property (Karl Artelt, grand son); click to magnify.

Living together in the prison with different officials from the workers movement had a sustainable influence on him (9). In one photograph (below) he can be seen together with Prof. Dr. med. Krahn from Antwerp (middle) and Joseph Verlinden, president of the metal workers' union and leader of socialdemocratic party of Antwerp (right).

Foto: Artelt in der Festungshaftanstalt Groß-Strelitz 1917 Groß-Strelitz 18 October 1917; explanation see above; family property (Karl Artelt, grand son); click to magnify.

When released from prison he received marching orders to Flanders, where he had to join the punishment battalion of the 2. Marine-Pioneerbataillon (7). When later Artelt protested against a leaflet of the military newspaper „An Flanderns Küste", which according to his statement, heavily insulted the striking ammunition workers in Germany, he was sent to a mental home in Bruges. However, after six weeks of medical observation the doctor ascertained his nerves were perfectly healthy (7). Soon thereafter he was transported back to Germany by express train (3, 2). In mid of May 1918 he sent a postcard from a navy hospital in Hamburg to his mother (11).

He was ordered back to Kiel as a much-in-demand specialist. After reporting to the division commander there were difficulties in detaching him: his former unit sent him to the Matrosen Division (sailors' division). However, he was rejected. Through captain Ludolf, who knew him from his case in 1917, he was eventually placed in the Torpedo Division (barracks in Kiel-Wik), where he worked in the torpedo boats repair yard. Other sources wrongly indicate the torpedo workshop in Kiel-Friedrichsort (see note 1 below) (2, 3). As a specialist of pumps he had to supervise a group of shipyard workers who had to work for the navy (2, 3). He used his job to secretly re-establish the navy shop stewards system, which had been smashed in 1917 (7, 2) (see note 2 below).

Kiel mutiny (sailors' revolt in Kiel)

Lothar Popp and Karl Artelt became the leaders of the sailors' mutiny in Kiel in November 1918. Artelt was the first to raise political demands (12) and founded the first soldiers' council 4 November 1918. As a representative of that council he was asked by Governor Souchon to meet him for negotiations. Together with other sailors' represenatives they travelled by car from Kiel-Wik to the Marinestation Ostsee carrying a large red flag. Artelt personally confronted those troops who came to quell the uprising and convinced them to either move back or to support the mutineers. On 10 December 1918 Artelt became Lothar Popp's successor as chairman of the Supreme Soldiers' Council in Kiel (12).

Foto: Beerdigungszug in Kiel am 10.11.1918
This photograph kept in the town archive Kiel depicts most likely part of the march to the cemetry where the burial service for the victims of the revolution in Kiel were to take place on 10 November 1918 (click to magnify). In the front row there are five persons, some suggested the one on the left as probably being Karl Artelt. His grand son, also Karl Artelt, however, is absolutely sure that his grand father is the person next to him (second left in the first row). He argued that his grand father was of rather small to middle height and that he, because of a problem with his eye sight, did not carry a rifle by that time but a pistol; siehe note 3 below.


„Well into the Hitler war“ a memorial plaque made of bronze was said to have been attached to the barracks building of the fifth company of the I. Torpedobootdivision in Kiel Wik, which read: „Hier brach am 4. November 1918 unter Führung von Karl Artelt die deutsche Revolution aus (Here started the German revolution on 4 November 1918 led by Karl Artelt).“ (3)

Despite severe political antagonism also Gustav Noske, who came to Kiel to stop the rising, treated Artelt with respect: Noske wrote in "Von Kiel bis Kapp" (p. 52) about Artelt: "....he [Lothar Popp] was replaced by the inactive senior stoker Artelt, a personally honest man, who lost influence rapidly however, when he started to propagate spartakistic ideas." Artelt did not succeed with his request for an effective revolutionary troup (7) - the balance of power had changed rapidly i.a. through the demobilisation - and he stepped back as chairman of the Supreme Soldiers' Council on 5 January 1919 (12).

Weimar Republic

Artelt went back to Magdeburg and stayed temporarily in Alt-Salbke 93 at a friend's flat (13). There he joined founding members of the KPD (Communist Party of Germany) in mid February 1919 (7) and was elected into the workers' council in March the same year. He was involved in the fighting for a council republic and against the Freicorps Maercker (7, 8). He gave a speech from the balkony of the Government building in the Dome square addressing the workers on strike (11). After the fighting ceased he went into hiding - first under an assumed name - in Nebra an der Unstrut (9).

As secretary of the KPD in Merseburg/Querfurt he organised the struggle to counter the Kapp-Lüttwitz-Putsch in 1920. A year later he took part in the March fighting 1921 in Mittel-Deutschland. He was imprisoned and only released on 22 August 1921 from the Naumburg jail (7).

As party secretary in Düsseldorf-Mörs, he was apprehended by the Belgian occupation authority and tried before an extra ordinary court martial in Aachen because of political agitation against the occupation. He was put into the detention camp Rhein Dahlen. He was then extradited by the allied commission to the Supreme Imperial Attorney (7)./p>

During the following years he functioned as district secretary of the the German Communist Party in Bielefeld and Kassel (9).

In the year 1924 aged 34 he became chairman of the works council of the company Schneider in Nebra. The firm was closed down after salary demands were declared justified by the social courts of Naumburg, Jena and Berlin. When later the company was re-established the workers' representatives were not re-employed (7).

The Nazi era

In the mid 1920s he became a sales agent. He subsequently opened his own small business and worked until the end of 1943 as an independent trader in Nebra (7).

Artelt was apprehended in 1933 and was supposed to be imprisoned. However, when the officer in charge recognized him as a former navy comrade, he refrained from doing so. Artelt nevertheless had to report to the police daily at noon and he was not allowed to leave Nebra. Every now and then he was apprehended and questioned but released afterwards. At the end of 1943 he had to carry out military service at the Lützkendorf mineral oil company . Also there he was put under Gestapo surveillance (7).

After 1945

After the end of the second world war Artelt became an initiator of the KPD and SPD merger into the SED (Socialistic United Party of Germany) in the district Querfurt. He became 1st district secretary (7).

Foto: Artelt als 1. Kreissekretär in Querfurt Karl Artelt as first secretary of the KPD respective SED of the district Querfurt/Saxony-Anhalt, second half of the 1940s; family property (Karl Artelt, grand son); click to magnify.

From 1948 to 1949 he was district chairman and thereafter became first district secretary of the peoples congress, which was later re-named the National Front (7).

ln November 1948 Artelt held speeches with the consent of the Soviet and English occupational authorities at seven large rallies in Kiel and its surroundings. This was to comemmorate the 30th anniversary of the Kiel mutiny(7).

In the 1960/70s he became highly decorated and gave lectures in factories, schools etc. about his wild revolutionary past in Kiel and other parts of Germany (9).

Foto: Artelt als Roter Admiral Karl Artelt as „Roter Admiral (red admiral)“, 1964;
family property (Hans-Holger Artelt, grand son); click to magnify.
Foto: Artelt Vortragsveranstaltung in Stralsund Foto: Artelt auf einer Vortragsveranstaltung Karl Artelt on lecturing tour;
left: 1958 in Stralsund, family property (Karl Artelt, grand son);
right: ca. 1965, family property (Hans-Holger Artelt, grand son); click to magnify.

From the middle of 1980 until his death on 28 September 1981 he lived in the "Clara Zetkin" old people's home in Halle/Saale (9). In June 2012 the gravesite at the cementary in Nebra was made a honorary grave by decision of the municipal council (14).

 

Annotations

Note 1:
According to Dirk Dähnhardt, Revolution in Kiel (p. 56) Artelt worked in the Torpedowerkstatt Friedrichsort. It seems Dähnhardt made a mistake here: those sources which he refers to and in a report from the Bundesarchiv (see below) show definetely that Artelt worked in the Torpedobootsreparatur-werkstatt or -werft (ship workshop or yard for the repair of torpedo boats) in Kiel Wik. Robert Rosentreter, Blaujacken im Novembersturm (p. 32) seems to have just copied Dähnhardt's information, although he claims to refer to Artelt's statements from 1960.

Note 2:
Also Hermann Knüfken describes in his book „Von Kiel bis Leningrad (From Kiel to Leningrad)“ (Verlag BasisDruck, Berlin 2008) the re-establishment of the shop stewart system within the navy (p. 32 ff.).

Note 3:
The grand son Karl Artelt is quoted as saying: The sailor third from right wearing a coat and a sabre is my grand father. He was short or maybe of "medium height".
On the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the marines' mutiny in Kiel I was asked - by then I was a student at the literature institute "Johannes R. Becher" in Leipzig - to write two full-page articles for weekend editions of the Magdeburg newspaper „Volksstimme" about this historic event. By then we naturally also talked about "secondary issues". That is why I remember very vividly, that he told me i.a. that he carried during the time of the mutiny a pistol 08, because it was difficult for him to handle a rifle (he had an inherent eye problem).
Because in 1945 he also received as 1st secretary of the KPD from the von der Soviet military administration a pistol 08, we later talked about this weird coincidence.
The sailor in the middle identified by others as Karl Artelt is out of question. Whoever is still having doubts should compare the photographs showing Artelt on board the „Gneisenau" in 1912 with the Artelt wearing a coat in the photo taken six years later marching through Kiel. When I was ca. three years old I started to conciously recognize the face of my grand father and we were all in all 39 years closely associated (living ten years in the same house, eight years nearby his place in Nebra and many weekends spent together. Later when I stayed in Magedburg I visited him very often. We had long talks, also on politics and history.)
A little episode: As first district secretary of the KPD he possessed a pistol 08. Sometimes it laid on a chair in the kitchen and when I looked curiously at it grand ma said: "Hot, don't touch!" - In later years when I raised that issue he told me: "Such a weapon I also had in Kiel." - "No rifle?" - "A rifle I had only 1914." (By that time he was clerk - private, I. Werft division in Kiel-Wik, August to December 1914.)
So: […] That, what I know for sure is, that the man in the middle, wearing a coat, is my grand father Karl Artelt. One hundred percent!
From: Klaus Kuhl, Gespräche mit dem Enkel Karl Artelt, 2010 unpublished.


Sources

    1. Gegen die Militärdiktatur! - Reichstagsrede des Abgeordneten Dittmann am 11. Oktober 1917 Nach dem amtlichen Stenogramm, in Zwei Reichstagsreden, Oktober 1917
    2. "Vorwärts und nicht vergessen - Erlebnisberichte aktiver Teilnehmer der Novemberrevolution 1918/1919", Dietz Verlag Berlin, 1958
    3. Peter Kast, Der Rote Admiral von Kiel, Verl. des Min. f. nat. Verteidigung, Berlin 1958
    4. Festschrift zum 40. Jahrestag der Novemberrevolution, Hg. von der SED-Bezirksleitung MD (Magdeburg)
    5. Im Feuer geboren. Zum Kampf der KPD im Bezirk Magdeburg-Anhalt" (Beiträge zur Geschichte der Stadt und des Bezirkes Magdeburg. Hg. von der SED-Bezirksleitung Magdeburg 1978)
    6. Quellensammlung zur Geschichte der Arbeiterbewegung im Bezirk Magdeburg. Teil II 1917-45
    7. Karl Artelt, CV written by himself, 1960 unpublished, family property: Karl Artelt, grand son
    8. Thesis Martin Gohlke: Die Räte in der Revolution von 1918/19 in Magdeburg, 1999. - VI, 289 Bl. - Universität Oldenburg
    9. CVs written by the grand son Karl Artelt: one unpublished, the other one see webpage of the university Magdeburg: http://www.uni-magdeburg.de/mbl/Biografien/0264.htm
    10. Erinnerungsbericht Karl Artelts SAPMO-Bundesarchiv (German Federal archive), Sign.: SGY 30/0022
    11. Klaus Kuhl, Gespräche mit dem Enkel Karl Artelt, 2010 unpublished
    12. Dirk Dähnhardt, Revolution in Kiel, Wachholtz Verlag, 1978
    13. According to a police Karthotek dated 17 December 1919 "Radikale in der Provinz Sachsen"
    14. Dieter Jäger: Ratsbeschluss - Ruhestätte von Karl Artelt ist nun Ehrengrab. In: Mitteldeutsche Zeitung, 2. Juni 2012

I'd be grateful to receive more information: Navigation bar -> "Contact"

Last updated 4 July 2012

 
  • Interview with one of the leaders: Lothar Popp >>
  • CV L. Popp >>
  • Recollections of the other leader: Karl Artelt >>
  • CV K. Artelt >>
  • Additional temporary witnesses >>
  • Films about the revolt >>
  • Evaluations >>
  • Timeline >>
  • Virtual sightseeing tour >>
  • Commentary >>

Lebenslauf Karl Artelt

Geburt, Schule, Ausbildung

Karl Artelt wurde im später nach Magdeburg eingemeindeten Dorf Salbke in der Repkowstr. 12, als Sohn des Maschinisten August Artelt und seiner Frau Marie geboren. Er besuchte die acht-klassige Volksschule und erlernte von 1904-1908 in der Maschinenfabrik R. Wolf in Magdeburg das Maschinenschlosserhandwerk. Er arbeitete dort zusammen mit dem späteren Dichter Erich Weinert, der ihm auch das "Einmaleins des Marxismus" beibrachte (Quelle Nr. 9, siehe unten).

Parteimitgliedschaften

Er trat 1908 in die SPD ein (9) und wurde später Mitglied der USPD. Im Frühjahr 1919 gehörte er zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der KPD in Magdeburg und 1946 wurde er SED-Mitglied.

Ostasien

Im Jahre 1908 heuerte er bei der Hamburg-Amerikanischen Packetfahrt-Actien-Gesellschaft (HAPAG, eine weltumspannende Schifffahrtsgesellschaft) an und verbrachte u.a. einige Jahre als Heizer auf Schiffen, mit denen in der Südsee Kopra aufgekauft wurde (3, 7, 9). Zwei Jahre später wurde er zur Marine eingezogen und diente als Heizer und später als Pumpenmeister auf dem Panzerkreuzer Gneisenau des deutschen Ostasiengeschwaders in Qingdao (Tsingtau). Er war Zeitzeuge der bürgerlichen Revolution in China unter Dr. Sun Yat-sen (3, 7, 9). Im September 1913 kehrte er als Reservist nach Magdeburg zurück und arbeitete wieder in der Maschinenfabrik Wolf (9).

Foto Artelt auf der Gneisenau 1912 Karl Artelt auf der „Gneisenau“ 1912 (unten zweiter von rechts und Aus-
schnittvergrößerung); Aufschrift auf der Tafel: Pumpenmeister Personal
SMS „Gneisenau“, Amoij, China 1912; Familienbesitz (Karl Artelt, Enkel)
Zum Vergrößern anklicken.

 

1. Weltkrieg

Mit Ausbruch des 1. Weltkrieges wurde er Mitte Juli 1914 wieder zur Marine eingezogen, diesmal als Verwaltungsschreiber in der 1. Werft Division Kiel-Wik (7, 9).

Foto Artelt und Kameraden in Kiel-Wik 1914 Karl Artelt, I. Werft Division, links, (Ausschnittsvergrößerung rechts), gemeinsam mit Kameraden der I. Torpedo-Division in Kiel-Wik; September 1914; Familienbesitz (Karl Artelt, Enkel); zum Vergrößern anklicken.

Anfang 1915 wurde er als Maschinenbauer zur Kieler Germania-Werft abkommandiert. Dort wurde er nach ein paar Monaten zum Betriebsobmann des Deutschen Metallarbeiter Verbandes für die Werft gewählt (7). Mitte Mai 1916 spitzten sich generell die Kriegssituation und auch die Nahrungsmittelversorgung in Kiel zu. Am 14. Juni kam es bei der Verteilung der ersten Frühkartoffeln zu Übergriffen auf Verkaufsstellen und Lagerhallen. Am folgenden Tag traten Teile der Germania-Werft Belegschaft in den Streik. (12 S. 37) Karl Artelt war einer der Streikführer (7). Im Winter verschlechterte sich die Versorgungslage. Ende März 1917 kam es angesichts einer vorgesehen Senkung der Brotrationen zu einem Ausstand von 1450 Arbeitern der Howaldtswerke und 4000 Arbeitern der Germaniawerft (12, S. 40). Artelt gehörte der Streikleitung an (9). Wegen dieser Aktivitäten wurde er verhaftet, vor ein außerordentliches Kriegsgericht gestellt und zu 6 Monaten Festungshaft verurteilt, die er in der Festungshaftanstalt Groß-Strelitz in Oberschlesien verbüßte (1).

Foto: Artelt 1917 vorm Kriegsgericht Artelt im April 1917 vor dem außerordentlichen Kriegsgericht in Kiel; Foto verschickt als Ansichtskarte am 2.11.1917 aus der Festungshaftanstalt in Groß-Strelitz an seinen Schwager Walter Heinke nach Magdeburg-Salbke; Familienbesitz (Karl Artelt, Enkel); zum Vergrößern anklicken.

Das Zusammenleben mit verschiedenen Arbeiterfunktionären in der Strafanstalt prägte ihn nachhaltig (9). Auf einem Foto (s.u.) ist er links zusammen mit Prof. Dr. med. Krahn aus Antwerpen und Joseph Verlinden, dem Präsidenten des Metallarbeiterverbandes Belgien sowie Führer der sozialdemokratischen Partei Antwerpens (rechts) abgebildet.

Foto: Artelt in der Festungshaftanstalt Groß-Strelitz 1917 Groß-Strelitz 18.10.1917; Beschreibung siehe Text oben; Familienbesitz (Karl Artelt, Enkel); zum Vergrößern anklicken.

Mit der Entlassung Mitte Dezember 1917 erhielt er zugleich auch den Marschbefehl zur Strafkompanie des 2. Marine-Pionierbataillons nach Flandern (7). Als Artelt gegen ein Flugblatt der Militärzeitung „An Flanderns Küste", in dem die streikenden Munitionsarbeiter in Deutschland nach seiner Aussage aufs schwerste verleumdet wurden, protestierte, wurde er in eine Nervenheilanstalt in Brügge eingewiesen. Doch nach sechswöchiger Beobachtung attestierte der Arzt ihm „kerngesunde Nerven“ (7). Bald darauf wurde er per D-Zug nach Deutschland zurücktransportiert (3, 2). Mitte Mai 1918 schickte er eine Karte aus einem Hamburger Marinelazarett an seine Mutter (11).

Dann wurde er als gefragter Spezialist nach Kiel zurückbeordert. Nach der Meldung beim Divisionskommandeur gab es Schwierigkeiten ihn unterzubringen: von seinem alten Truppenteil wurde er zur Matrosendivision geschickt, wo seine Aufnahme abgelehnt wurde. Über den Hauptmann Ludolf, der ihn aus seinem Prozess 1917 kannte, wurde er in der Torpedodivision (Kasernenanlage in Kiel-Wik) untergebracht und war dann dort in der Torpedobootsreparaturwerkstatt tätig (1, 2, 3). Als Pumpenspezialist führte er dort eine Kolonne zur Marine eingezogener Werftarbeiter (2, 3). Von hier aus baute er den im Jahre 1917 zerschlagenen Vertrauensmännerkörper in der Marine wieder auf (7, 2) (2).

Kieler Matrosenaufstand

Zusammen mit Lothar Popp führt er den Kieler Matrosenaufstand im November 1918 an. Artelt formulierte erste politische Forderungen (12) und gründete am 4.11.1918 den ersten Soldatenrat. Er wurde als dessen Repräsentant vom Gouverneur Souchon zu Verhandlungen gebeten. Mit einer großen roten Fahne am Auto fuhr er von der Wik zur Marinestation Ostsee. Artelt sorgte durch persönlichen Einsatz dafür, dass Truppen, die den Aufstand niederschlagen sollten, entweder umkehrten oder sich der Bewegung anschlossen. Am 10.12.1918 wurde Artelt Nachfolger Lothar Popps als Vorsitzender des Obersten Soldatenrats. (12)
Foto: Beerdigungszug in Kiel am 10.11.1918
Auf einem Foto des Kieler Stadtarchivs, das nach damaliger Überzeugung die Beerdigungsfeierlichkeiten für die Revolutionsopfer in Kiel am 10.11.1918 zeigte, wurden von verschiedenen Personen Gustav Noske, Lothar Popp und auch Karl Artelt erkannt. Der Enkel Karl Artelts war sich sicher, dass es sich bei seinem Großvater um die zweite Person von links in der ersten Reihe handelte. Er führte u.a. an, dass sein Großvater eher von kleinem bis mittlerem Wuchs war und dass er wegen eines Augenleidens kein Gewehr sondern eine Pistole trug; siehe Anm. 3. Im Februar 2015 stellte das Stadtarchiv Kiel nach Hinweis von Matthias Sperwien jedoch fest, dass es sich bei diesem berühmten Foto tatsächlich um den Trauerzug in Berlin zur Beerdigung von Revolutionsopfern am 20. November 1918 handelt. Mehr Info unter "Zeitleiste" oder direkt >>


„Bis in den Hitlerkrieg hinein“ soll am Kasernengebäude der fünften Kompanie der I. Torpedobootdivision in Kiel Wik eine Plakette aus Bronze angebracht gewesen sein, auf der stand: „Hier brach am 4. November 1918 unter Führung von Karl Artelt die deutsche Revolution aus.“ (3)

Trotz der scharfen politischen Gegensätze wurde Artelt auch von Noske mit Respekt begegnet: Noske schrieb in "Von Kiel bis Kapp" (S. 52) über ihn: "....er [Lothar Popp] wurde durch den inaktiven Oberheizer Artelt ersetzt, einen persönlich anständigen Mann, der jedoch rasch an Einfluß verlor, als er versuchte spartakistische Ideen zu propagieren." Artelt kam mit seiner Forderung, eine schlagkräftige revolutionäre Truppe aufzubauen, nicht durch (7) – die Machtverhältnisse hatten sich u.a. durch die Demobilisierung grundlegend verschoben - und trat am 5.1.1919 als Vorsitzender des Obersten Soldatenrats zurück (12).

Weimarer Republik

Er kehrte daraufhin nach Magdeburg zurück und fand vorübergehend Unterkommen bei einer befreundeten Familie in Alt-Salbke 93 (13). Dort gehörte er zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der KPD Mitte Februar 1919 (7) und wurde im März desselben Jahres in den Arbeiterrat gewählt. Er beteiligte sich an den Kämpfen zur Errichtung der Räterepublik und gegen das Freicorps Maercker (7, 8) und sprach vom Balkon des Regierungsgebäudes am Domplatz zu den Streikenden (11). Nach den Kämpfen tauchte er, zunächst unter falschem Namen, in Nebra an der Unstrut unter (9).

Als Sekretär der KPD im Unterbezirk Merseburg/Querfurt leitete er 1920 die Kämpfe zur Abwehr des Kapp-Lüttwitz-Putsches. Im Jahr 1921 beteiligte er sich an den Märzkämpfen in Mitteldeutschland. Er wurde in Haft genommen und erst am 22. August 1921 aus dem Gefängnis Naumburg entlassen (7).

Als Parteisekretär in Düsseldorf-Mörs, wurde er von der belgischen Besatzungsbehörde verhaftet und wegen politischer Umtriebe gegen die Besatzungsmacht vor einem außerordentlichen Kriegsgericht in Aachen angeklagt. Er kam in das Internierungslager Rhein Dahlen. Von der interalliierten Kommission wurde er dann an den Oberreichsanwalt ausgeliefert (7).

In den folgenden Jahren war er Bezirkssekretär der Kommunistischen Partei in Bielefeld und Kassel (9).

Im Jahr 1924 im Alter von nunmehr 34 Jahren wurde er Betriebsratsvorsitzender der Firma Schneider in Nebra. Wegen Lohnforderungen bei denen die Arbeitsgerichte Naumburg, Jena und Berlin der Belegschaft Recht gaben, wurde der Betrieb geschlossen. Bei der späteren Neueröffnung wurde der Betriebsrat nicht wieder eingestellt (7).

NS-Zeit

Mitte der 1920er Jahre wurde er Handelsvertreter, machte sich bald darauf selbstständig und arbeitete bis Ende 1943 als unabhängiger Kaufmann in Nebra (7).

Artelt wurde 1933 verhaftet und sollte inhaftiert werden. Aber als der leitende Offizier ihn als ehemaligen Marinekameraden erkannte, wurde dies nicht durchgeführt. Er musste sich künftig täglich 12 Uhr bei der Polizei melden und durfte Nebra nicht verlassen. In gewissen Zeitabständen wurde er auch verhaftet und verhört aber wieder freigelassen. Ende 1943 wurde er in die Mineralölwerke Lützkendorf kriegsdienstverpflichtet. Dort stand er wiederum unter Gestapoaufsicht (7).

Nach 45

Nach dem Ende des II. Weltkrieges gehörte Artelt zu den Initiatoren der Vereinigung von KPD und SPD zur SED im Kreis Querfurt und wurde dort als 1. Kreissekretär eingesetzt (7).

Foto: Artelt als 1. Kreissekretär in Querfurt Karl Artelt als Erster Kreissekretär der KPD bzw. SED des Kreises Querfurt/Sachsen-Anhalt, zweite Hälfte der 1940er Jahre; Familienbesitz (Karl Artelt, Enkel); zum Vergrößern anklicken.

Von 1948 bis 1949 war er Kreistagsvorsitzender und wurde dann 1.Kreissekretär der Volkskongreßbewegung der späteren Nationalen Front (7).

lm November 1948 sprach Artelt mit Genehmigung der sowjetischen und englischen Besatzungsbehörden auf sieben Großkundgebungen in Kiel und Umgebung aus Anlaß der 30-Jahrfeier des Kieler Matrosenaufstandes (7).

In den 1960/70er Jahren referierte der inzwischen hoch Dekorierte in Betrieben, Schulen etc. über seine bewegte revolutionäre Vergangenheit (9).

Foto: Artelt als Roter Admiral Karl Artelt als „Roter Admiral“, 1964;
Familienbesitz, Enkel Hans-Holger Artelt
;
zum Vergrößern anklicken.
Foto: Artelt Vortragsveranstaltung in Stralsund Foto: Artelt auf einer Vortragsveranstaltung Karl Artelt auf Vortragsveranstaltungen; links: 1958 in Stralsund, Familienbesitz, Enkel Karl Artelt;
rechts: ca. 1965, Familienbesitz, Enkel Hans-Holger Artelt;
zum Vergrößern anklicken.

Ab Mitte 1980 bis zu seinem Tod am 28.9.1981 lebte er in dem Seniorenheim "Clara Zetkin" in Halle/Saale (9). Im Juni 2012 wurde seine Grabstätte auf dem Friedhof in Nebra durch Beschluss des Gemeiderats in ein Ehrengrab umgewandelt (14).

 

Anmerkungen

Anm. 1:
Nach Dirk Dähnhardt, Revolution in Kiel (S. 56) arbeitete Artelt in der Torpedowerkstatt Friedrichsort. Hier ist Dähnhardt offenbar ein Übertragungsfehler unterlaufen: In den Quellen, auf die er sich bezieht und in dem Bericht im Bundesarchiv (s.u.) wird eindeutig von der Torpedobootsreparaturwerkstatt oder -werft in Kiel Wik gesprochen. Robert Rosentreter, Blaujacken im Novembersturm (S. 32) scheint diese Information einfach übernommen zu haben, obwohl er sich auf Aussagen Artelts von 1960 bezieht.

Anm. 2:
Auch Hermann Knüfken berichtet in „Von Kiel bis Leningrad“ (Verlag BasisDruck, Berlin 2008) von einem Neuaufbau des Vertrauensleutekörpers in der Marine (S. 32 ff.).

Anm. 3:
Bevor das Foto 2015 eindeutig Berlin zugeordnet werden konnte, vermutete Karl Artelt, Enkel: Bei dem Marineangehörigen, dritter von rechts mit Mantel und Säbel handelt es sich um meinen Großvater. Er war klein bzw. vielleicht auch „mittelgroß".
Anlässlich des 50. Jahrestages des Kieler Matrosenaufstandes wurde ich, damals Student am Institut für Literatur "Johannes R. Becher" in Leipzig, gebeten, zwei ganzseitige Wochenendbeiträge über dieses historische Ereignis für die Magdeburger Zeitung „Volksstimme" zu schreiben. Da kamen natürlich auch sogenannte „Nebensächlichkeiten" zur Sprache. Deshalb erinnere ich mich sehr genau, dass er mir u.a. sagte, dass er während des Aufstandes mit einer Pistole 08 bewaffnet war, da er mit einem Gewehr „nie so richtig klargekommen sei." (Er hatte ein angeborenes Augenleiden.)
Da er 1945 von der sowjetischen Militäradministration als I. Kreis-Sekretär der KPD auch eine Pistole 08 erhielt, haben wir beide uns später einmal über die merkwürdige Übereinstimmung unterhalten.
Der Mariner in der Mitte, der von anderen als Karl Artelt identifiziert wurde, kommt nicht in Frage. Diejenigen, die noch Zweifel haben, sollten einmal den Artelt auf der „Gneisenau" 1912 und den mit Mantel, sechs Jahre älter, durch Kiel marschierend, vergleichen.Mit ca. drei Jahren habe ich das Gesicht meines Großvaters bewußt wahrgenommen und war insgesamt 39 Jahre mit ihm eng verbunden. (Zehn Jahre mit in seinem Haus gewohnt, acht Jahre in der Nähe seines Wohnortes Nebra gelebt und an den Wochenenden bei ihm gewesen. Später, von Magdeburg aus, ihn sehr häufig besucht. Lange Gespräche mit ihm geführt, auch über Po¬litik und Geschichte.)
Eine kleine Episode: Als 1. Kreissekretär der KPD besaß er 1945 eine Pistole 08. Sie lag manchmal in der Küche auf einem Stuhl und wenn ich sie neugierig beäugte, sagte Oma: "Heiß, nicht anfassen!" - Spätere Jahre darauf angesprochen, sagte er zu mir: „So eine hatte ich auch in Kiel." - „Kein Gewehr?" - „Ein Gewehr hatte ich nur 1914." (Da war er Schreiber - Rekrut ,1 .Werftdivision, Kiel - Wik .August bis Dezember 1914.)


Quellen

    1. Gegen die Militärdiktatur! - Reichstagsrede des Abgeordneten Dittmann am 11. Oktober 1917 Nach dem amtlichen Stenogramm, in Zwei Reichstagsreden, Oktober 1917
    2. "Vorwärts und nicht vergessen - Erlebnisberichte aktiver Teilnehmer der Novemberrevolution 1918/1919", Dietz Verlag Berlin, 1958
    3. Peter Kast; Der Rote Admiral von Kiel, Verl. des Min. f. nat. Verteidigung, Berlin 1958
    4. Festschrift zum 40. Jahrestag der Novemberrevolution, Hg. von der SED-Bezirksleitung MD (Magdeburg)
    5. Im Feuer geboren. Zum Kampf der KPD im Bezirk Magdeburg-Anhalt" (Beiträge zur Geschichte der Stadt und des Bezirkes Magdeburg. Hg. von der SED-Bezirksleitung Magdeburg 1978)
    6. Quellensammlung zur Geschichte der Arbeiterbewegung im Bezirk Magdeburg. Teil II 1917-45
    7. Karl Artelt, selbst geschriebener Lebenslauf, 1960 unveröffentlicht im Familienbesitz: Karl Artelt, Enkel
    8. Dissertation Martin Gohlke: Die Räte in der Revolution von 1918/19 in Magdeburg, 1999. - VI, 289 Bl. - Universität Oldenburg
    9. Lebensläufe erstellt vom Enkel Karl Artelt: ein Exemplar unveröffentlicht, das andere siehe Webseite der Uni Magdeburg: http://www.uni-magdeburg.de/mbl/Biografien/0264.htm
    10. Erinnerungsbericht Karl Artelts SAPMO-Bundesarchiv, Sign.: SGY 30/0022
    11. Klaus Kuhl, Gespräche mit dem Enkel Karl Artelt, 2010 unveröffentlicht
    12. Dirk Dähnhardt, Revolution in Kiel, Wachholtz Verlag, 1978
    13. nach einer Polizei Karthotek vom 17.12.19 "Radikale in der Provinz Sachsen"
    14. Dieter Jäger: Ratsbeschluss - Ruhestätte von Karl Artelt ist nun Ehrengrab. In: Mitteldeutsche Zeitung, 2. Juni 2012

Für weitere Informationen bin ich dankbar; -> Navigationsleiste: "Kontakt"

Last updated 17.1.2016

 
  • Interview mit einem der Führer: Lothar Popp >>
  • Lebenslauf L. Popp >>
  • Erlebnisbericht des zweiten Führers: Karl Artelt >>
  • Lebenslauf K. Artelt >>
  • Weitere Zeitzeugen >>
  • Filme über die Ereignisse >>
  • Einschätzungen >>
  • Zeitleiste >>
  • Virtueller Stadtrundgang >>
  • Kommentar >>